Frederik Köster (dob 14.10.1977) graduated in music teaching in Detmold, further in jazz trumpet and jazz composition/arranging in Cologne.

In 2007 Frederik was appointed professor for jazz trumpet at the Hochschule für Musik der Fachhochschule Osnabrück and from 2010 to 2018 he was also teaching at the Hochschule für Musik, Theater und Medien in Hannover.

Based in Cologne, he has enjoyed playing with a variety of internationally acclaimed jazz artists: Phil Woods, Albert Mangelsdorff, Ack van Rooyen, Biréli Lagrene, Randy Brecker, Hiram Bullock, Jiggs Whigham, Nils Wogram, Simon Nabatov, Wolfgang Haffner, Nils Landgren, Rick Margitza, Jane Monheit, Lalo Shiffrin, Trilok Gurtu, Nils Petter Molvaer, Johannes Enders, Paul Heller, Niels klein, Michael Wollny, Florian Weber, WDR Big Band, HR Big Band, Peter Herbolzheimer’s Rhythm Combination & Brass, etc.

In September 2006 Frederik was awarded best soloist at the Jazz Hoeilaart International Contest in Belgium. The Frederik Köster quartet was awarded the Neuer Deutscher Jazzpreis 2009, with Frederik additionally claiming first prize for best soloist. In 2010 he was awarded an ECHO JAZZ for “ZEICHEN DER ZEIT” in the category „instrumentalist of the year national – brass instruments“. In October 2010 Frederik Köster was awarded the WDR Jazzpreis in the category „Improvisation“. In January 2013 he was awarded the Westfalen Jazzpreis. In 2017 He was awarded an ECHO JAZZ for “CANADA” in the category „instrumentalist of the year national – brass instruments“

With his Gorups like the Frederik Köster Quartett and Die Verwandlung he released nine albums, played on well known international Jazz Festivals like the german Jazz Baltica, Moers Festival, the North Sea Jazz Festival in Rotterdam or the Euro Jazz Festival in Mexico City and toured with Support of the Goethe Institut to Mexico, Nicaragua, Costa Rica, Honduras, Portugal, Malaysia, Begium, South Africa and India.

Frederik’s latest Project is called Die Verwandlung (The Metamorphosis) with Sebastian Sternal (piano), Joscha Oetz (Double Bass) and Jonas Burgwinkel (drums).

In 2009 Frederik Köster founded together with Tobias Hoffmann, Niels Klein, Pablo Held, Jonas Burgwinkel, Robert Landfermn und Tobias Christl the KLAENG JAZZ COLLECTIV.


„Frederik Köster’s new CD ‚Zeichen der Zeit‘ is completely modern in conception and realization with world first! class playing and composing by Frederik and everyone else in this engaging band!“ (Randy Brecker)

„… His tone is superb and his solistic ideas are, quite simply, breathtaking! I was deeply impressed by Frederik’s command of harmony and rhythm, both as a composer as well as a soloist.“ (Peter O’Mara)

„Purism is strange to Frederik Köster’s nature. He is one of the promising recent trumpet discoveries, merging hardbop bite with the energy of fusion…”(WDR)

„… Köster’s playing is distinguished by sensitivity and accuracy, ranging from soft lyricism to powerful projection. On top of that, he is an inventive composer and arranger…“ (Deutschlandfunk)

„New burgeoning German trumpet player, fourth chapter: Frederik Köster. Powerful sound, uninhibited by mute, in a brew that evolves into an electric drama.“ (Die Zeit)


Frederik Köster / die Verwandlung – Stufen

Trilok Gurtu – God is a Drummer

Edgar Knecht – Personal Seasons

Sirocco Saxophone Quartet featuring Frederik Köster – Levante

Jens Düppe – Studio Konzert

Morgenland All Star Band – Live in Beirut

Jens Düppe – Dancing Beauty

Martin Schulte Quartett feat. Frederik Köster – Walking Distance

Jens Düppe – Anima

Sternal Symphonic Society – Vol. 2

Morgenland All Star Band – Dastan

The Big Jazz Thing – A Next Generation Celebration

Sebastian Sternal – Sternal Symphonic Society (Traumton Records)

Christian Brückner / Frederik Köster / Heiner Schmitz / Cologne Contemporary Jazz Orchestra – Odyssee (Big Band Records)

Johannes Müller Jazz Mile – Night Grooves (CMO Music)

Stefan Schmid – exTENded (Double Moon)

NDR Big Band/Osnabrück Symphony Orchestra – Shourouk (Dreyer Gaido)

Katharina Maschmeyer Quartett feat. Frederik Köster – Circle of Elements

BAP – Halv Su Wild (EMI)

Hannah Köpf – Stories Untold (Double Moon Records)

Thorsten Heitzmann’s Bonefunk – Soulfields (Mons Records)

Tom Gaebel – Don’t Wanna Dance (Telemedia Music) 2008

Curse – Freiheit (ARR)

Klaus Doldinger’s Passport & WDR Big Band – On Stage (Warner Music)

Johannes Müller Jazz Mile – Subway To Downtown New York (CMO Music)

Biréli Lagrene & WDR Big Band – Djangology (Dreyfus/WDR)

BuJazzO – Calling South Africa (Mons Records)



Frederik Köster / die Verwandlung Göppingen / DE – E-Werk
Jens Düppe Quartett Oranienburg / DE – Kulturkonsum